Dirt Church Radio
DCR AidStation
Strava: can't live with it, can't live without it
8
Preview
0:00
-3:34

Strava: can't live with it, can't live without it

Plus: If it happened on Strava, can we even be sure it happened?
8

AidStation Podcast 018 – Fast Times and Strava Crimes

Kia ora e te whānau! Where were you when you first heard about the big orange S? On this episode of the DCR AidStation podcast, Eugene and Matt dive deep into the good, the bad, and the (very) ugly that is Strava. Our heroes discuss what they love and love less about the social fitness platform and the positive and less positive impacts it has had on their lives. What brought this topic up was the dawning incredulity that people are hiring Strava Mules to run things fast for them for the purpose of kudos and followers. Oh, and we checked the date and it isn’t April 1st. Minds. Blown.

Enjoy!

Music by Andrew McDowall, Digicake

Merch alert!

Rep your 3rd favourite trail and ultra marathon podcast whilst keeping cool and breezy in this technical trucker hat. Pleasing woodland vista, and one size fits most. Out now!

$NZ59.99 plus postage and packaging with a discount for DCR AidStation paid subscribers (who can scroll down for the code).

Available from the DCR website

Our mates at Squadrun have come up with a special four week training trial for listeners of DCR. Now as you’ll know from listening to DCR over the years, Squadrun is the baby of Kerry Suter and Ali Pottinger, and they have coached thousands of runners to success at a bunch of events we love and cherish and if you’ve been to any trail races on either side of the Tasman you’ll have seen the squadrun colours being represented strongly. So, if you want to give it a crack, here’s the link.

Missed out on episodes of the Dirt Church Radio podcast? Listen on your favourite app. There are more than 280 episodes.

And check us out on YouTube!

Where we’re headed:

December: Matt’s heading back to the mighty Kepler Challenge in Te Anau. Entries open July 6. Don’t miss out!

Strava sucks – and I miss it

– Eugene

A few months ago, I made the decision to get off Strava. It’s been the best and worst, all at the same time.

For me, the choice was directly related to the injury which has stopped me in my running tracks since the beginning of the year.

It was no fun being reminded of all the cool running adventures I was missing out on, scrolling through and dishing out kudos for all the awesome runs I could see my mates having (and I was missing out on).

But it wasn’t just because I was feeling sorry for myself. If it was just that, I’d have taken a harden-up pill and got on with it.

No, with my change in circumstances, I’d had time to reflect on my whole relationship with running, and I realised what Strava had done to me. 

I didn’t like it.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Dirt Church Radio to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Dirt Church Radio
DCR AidStation
Welcome to the DCR AidStation, your fortnightly bonus nugget of trail running goodness. Fill up your bottles, grab a snack, and take a seat with Matt and Eugene as they run through the hot topics, joined by occasional special guests.